Assembling one hanging and starting another

so I contacted Laxey woolen mill about ordering white tweed, and it turns out the minimum order is forty metres, rather than the twenty I thought it was.

forties a bit much, so as I was thinking I noticed the online shop had grey, the same as I’ve used for the seasons on the zodiac. Grey can be dyed and will be fine for the guthlac project, so I decided to order grey.

thing is, the width is only 75cm, which folds in half to make two panels for the labours hanging. But I had a further think and realised the guthlac panels are much more detailed, so they need to be bigger, which means I can’t get two panels out of the width of the cloth.

image

I realised I was going to have to start planning the next project when I’ve barely started this one.

as you can see I’ve already cut and hemmed the 18guthlac panels – they’re going to be serving plate sized rather than the dinner plate sized labours panel I’ve shown for comparison. Hemming them now leaves me with a nine metre strip cut from the sides which I can now dye to use for filler panels for the labours hanging- there should be enough for guthlac as well- it’s means buying less cloth this way.

it occurred to me as I was cutting these that since the male labours took six years, the female ought to be roughly the same. But guthlac is eighteen much larger panels, so once (if) I finish it, I ought to plan my subsequent project bearing in mind whether or not I will actually live long enough to finish it.

cheerful thought, that!

anyway, I got the tablet weave for the zodiac done, stitched on, and then embroidered. I decided to use stem rather than split stitch because I think it sits better on tablet weave.

image

The nice thing about using tablet weave for something like this is that it accommodates a certain amount of curve.

first step was to lay the backing sheet onto the table and arrange the pieces.

image

There wasn’t quite enough grey on the season panels to fit around the disc, so I had to add in an extra piece. Because the tweed is handloomed it has a proper selvedge, so I was able to simply overlap and sew down, avoiding a bulky seam.

i sewed the tweed roughly to the backing sheet to avoid later sagging.

there was much umming and aahing during the week about the edges. I’d always intended to bind them, and I thought I had some lightweight grey, but it turned out I didn’t. I didn’t want to use the grey tweed round the edges because it might mean running out later, and I didn’t want to use another cloth that wasn’t veg dyed, so I decided to go for white.

image

I quite like the way it fades into the grey, but I decided it needed something else so I couched some of the waste warp from the tablet weave over the join.

image

Getting the corners straight meant a bit of jiggling though

image

The central disc overlaps the white a little, an affect I quite like.

i was worried about sagging though, because the tweed is quite heavy, so I tacked along the the tablet weave through to the back for support.

I’m not surprised this has taken longer than originally anticipated, as it’s turned out twice the size – about three foot by four foot.

 

 

~ by opusanglicanum on February 21, 2016.

6 Responses to “Assembling one hanging and starting another”

  1. It’s strange, this having more fabric than I have time left in which to stitch on it, isn’t it? (Especially when the next Project always seems to need something other than what I have in the stash. Even if it was intended to use only stash fabric/thread when I started it.) I shall just have to make sure I remain able to stitch for as long as possible, and get a queue of enthusiastic stash-inheritors lined up for when I can’t.
    The white edge on the grey looks very smart – and the red edging lifts it all beautifully. This is going to be a stunning panel when you reveal it in all its glory.

    • I’m actually doing quite well one stash, cos if I can resist buying anything else until easter I’m about two thirds the way though my stash of shirt fabric, and should make them all up by then (and have most of my Christmas presents made) although I will then have to start making myself a new skirt or two from the scraps. And I cut out a new norman frock from my stash last weekend, which is for the adel church embroidered collar – I needed to cut it to work out how big the embroidery neds to be on the cuffs. see- progress

      I get nervous when my stash diminishes too much though, esp the veg dyed embroidery wools. stash is like an anti boredom safety net

  2. 40 metres? Really? Do they make it specially?

  3. You, too? Given my current large project has taken 10 years so far and isn’t finished, and that I have two more large project buzzing in my head, I’ll need to maintain sight and dexterity until I’m close to 100!

Leave a Reply

 
