ready to roll again

DSC_0095

I think the next roll might be just half a roll, just enough to finish the top of the shellbeast and the owl physician’s face – that way I can do the beast above in one swoop.

Rolling the frame accurately on these big pieces is actually quite tricky because tensioning the rolled work pulls it out, often much further than you’d think.

I experimented with some shading on the long beast’s wing…

DSC_0093

I’m still not entirely sure it worked, especially in such different colours, but these things are always worth trying.

It’s funny but that very pale baby blue (a single dip woad) is a colour I absolutely hate, but even if you don’t like a colour or shade it can often prove remarkably useful, especially in the limited palette afforded by natural dyes.

finished part of the long beast with detailed wing. I think maybe it would have been better if I’d done the dark shading in the same very dark blue as the edge of the blue body? meh, you live and learn. (I am very pleased with how well the two parts of the blue body have spliced together though – you can barely see the join where the frame has been rolled)

DSC_0094

Sigh, and now I’m going to spend the rest of my evening covering the work and rolling the frame, which never really feels like doing anything, even though it’s evidence that I’ve just finished a massive chunk.

 

~ by opusanglicanum on February 25, 2016.

4 Responses to “ready to roll again”

  1. The two-colour wing looks translucent, a nice effect. As if it was made of blueish material with a golden surface. I can’t even see the join on the body.

    As usual, I am agog to find out what rolls into sight next….

  2. I I know what you mean about advancing the fabric on the frame. It has to be done, and done well, but somehow, the brain sort of skates over it…

    • and it always takes longer than you think – especially since I have to go find my adjustable spanner because with the homemade frame extension it’s held on by nuts and bolts rather than proper twiddlies

Leave a Reply

 
