Frock progress

Has been made. But there’s no way it’s wearable tomorrow, so I’ll wear something else instead.

I’m quite pleased with how the sleeves look though. The colours are very harmonious and the cut ( odd but necessitated by shortage of fabric) looks ok.

image

I couched the edge of the embroidery with some naturally dyed como silk, which has helped bed down the colour

image

~ by opusanglicanum on April 22, 2016.

6 Responses to “Frock progress”

  1. Simple but effective. And I’m quite sure some ingenious adaptations were always required to deal with shortages of cloth, so you’ll be even more period-accurate than people realise!

  2. Lovely. I’m sure clothes were cut all sorts of ways to make the best use of fabrics.. especially when fabrics were being reused.. which I imagine they were.
    Didn’t we all spend hours as kids drawing pictures of princesses in dresses with sleeves just like that? You lucky girl!

  3. I love that sleeve shape! Just be careful if you go to a buffet though….guess how I know!

    But I can’t wait to see the finished frock

Leave a Reply

 
