Sunday cartoon

Gareth looked at me rather blanky when I asked him to photograph the cartoon, I keep forgetting he knows less than nothing about art.

anyway, I spent two days on this – the blue is tailors chalk for rough sketching, whereas the black is permanent. As with the first I drew freehand without any particular plan other than that I was going to use interesting bits of border as steps. I did use a ruler and set square on this to keep the steps true though

i think I’m getting better at the whole medieval busyness thing ( if in doubt bung some leaves in has become my mantra). My only real wibble with this cartoon is that I think I made the knight a bit large – I forgot to chalk in a border above his head so he grew to fill available space, I should have limited him before I began. Oh, and I got to the end and realised I’d failed to include the breakdancing dragon.

 

image

As you can see, I used a flexible definition of dragon, perhaps dragonesque would be a more accurate term.

its the same size as the first- two foot by five- but I think it might take longer to colour in because it’s denser. I’ve been thinking of it as Lutrell fantasy number two, but Gareth has labelled the cartoon JPEG here be dragons.

fantasy number one had a bow tie and a cadburys cream egg as pop culture references, this one has the hogwarts school motto because I couldn’t resist.

image

Branston is doing his Sunday thing. Gareth reckons the RSPCA would take him away and put him to sleep for being such an unkempt scruff, he’s quite assertive ( ie violent) about the not being groomed thing.

~ by opusanglicanum on June 5, 2016.

22 Responses to “Sunday cartoon”

  1. I’m sure the breakdancing dragon will appear somewhere else – he sounds too wonderful not to!

  2. Oh, my. That is incredible. You’ve really got the medieval style down to a tee.

  3. Love it!

  4. Wow! This looks wonderful already! I’m so looking forward to this one in progress and finished. But I’m wondering about the single leg, a bit below the riding knight in the middle.

  5. Some wonderful dragons wait to awake in all their glory here.

  6. The knight really needs to be this size so as not to be overwhelmed by all the wyverns. Is there a dragon — ones with four legs, that is? Really like the 3-headed caped super-wyvern.

  7. It’s stunning, and it will be fun to watch you colour it in!

  8. I hope that you are saving good images of your cartoons. Eventually you could come out with colouring sheets for sale of some of the details.
    I know I’d buy them!

Leave a Reply

 
