The grand finale

I see you shiver in antici….

image

…pation.

the pic makes it look much daintier than it really is because it’s two foot by five, which is hard to convey over teh internets.

it still needs trimming up and mounting. The little orange square is a student sample block, so that’s going ( you know who you are, if you want it posting to ? Israel? You need to let me know by the end of the week or it goes in the bin).

gareth likes this pic, but I’m not sure. It was taken before I washed and wet stretched the piece and I can see where some bits are still bent from the frame. I’m thinking of re stretching it because I’m not happy with the current finish.

overall I think I’m quite pleased, although I think the composition is a little sparse in the middle – a problem I think I’ve overcome on the second piece so I feel I’m improving.

~ by opusanglicanum on June 7, 2016.

19 Responses to “The grand finale”

  1. So lovely! The picture shows such bright colors. As for sparseness, I used your “bung a few more leaves in” mantra last night while working on some doodling. It solved my problem, lol.

    Thanks for sharing the process as you go – it’s been fun watching it develop.

  2. well, if you dont lie it, i take it immediately!!!!!!🙂

  3. sorry… wanted to write “like”…!

  4. Stunning. It’s lovely to see the details as you do them, but it doesn’t give any idea of the impact of the finished piece!

  5. It is beautiful! What a gorgeous accomplishment. I have enjoyed the process and now I get to enjoy your wonderful work. Thank you for sharing.

  6. The whole is far greater than the sum of all its parts and the parts were pretty impressive. It’s been great fun watching this emerge from the fabric and re-emerge from under the tissue paper. Looking forward to the next one now🙂 Bravo!

  7. Its wonderful. The colours glow.

  8. Impressive. I’m almost tempted to try a small piece using the same techniques since you make it look so easy. I’ve enjoyed watching this take shape. You should be mighty pleased with yourself at the end results.

  9. I’d forgotten the flying monkeys/dancing devils were at the bottom of this – they make a perfect contrast to the more informal layout above, and anchor everything visually.

  10. Are you going to bring this to the next Ashmolean day? Pretty please?

Leave a Reply

 
