More progress

The back panel is the biggest, and took six days – eek!

I even worked on it while watching outdoor theatre last Friday ( oddsocks steampunk Macbeth, highly recommended, I’ve been humming bat outa hell ever since)

image

And because there will eventually be a split up the back to accommodate a godet, I cheated a bit. Before removing my tacked marker of where the godet is, and before adding spangles, I basically did an awfully big buttonhole along the slit – not tremendously authentic, but once folded under it will be far less bulky than if I’d tried to end the design either side.

image

I’m seriously considering doing something similar along the edge of each panel before I remove the excess satin around the sides, because I’m worried that no matter how thoroughly I’ve anchored them the ends of the couched threads might eventually work loose.

 

 

 

~ by opusanglicanum on July 18, 2016.

4 Responses to “More progress”

  1. That sounds like a very good idea indeed!

Leave a Reply

 
