Procrastination finished

Yesterday I cut out six shirts, ten tote bags, and a couple of skirts.

Then I spread the silk brocade out, wiggled it a bit, screamed at the pretty, squealed some more, and made Gareth come and admire just how pretty it was.

Then I measured it properly and discovered I had six and a half metres, rather than the six I thought I had, so I went back to drawing on graph paper for a bit.

Then shortly before dinner I finally got round to cutting out.

image

There really isn’t much of the silk left, just one row of about five circles.

its basically two straight rectangles front and back, two enormous semi circles for the skirts, two short rectangles for the side body, and sleeves. The sleeves and body panels will be lined, but not the skirts or side body- I’m lining the body because I’m worried about stressing the silk by side lacing the dress, so the lining will strengthen it ( the plum silk is very thick). I’m seriously considering making bias tape from the rest of the plum and using it to protect the hem, that way I can replace it if it gets snagged – people are idiots who do not understand why I get cranky when they stand on my skirts, because modern clothes are so cheap and nasty.

i also discovered that the brocade lines up perfectly at the edges for almost invisible piecing, which I don’t much need, but was very pleased by.

image

Also, if any of my uk reenactment friends can use it, I have two strips of silk leftover from revamping johns tunic. They would work perfectly as edging on a wool tunic, and allow the wearer to talk about patronage, and the value and reuse of fabric. I’m happy to send them anywhere in the uk, but obviously I shall expect a photo of what you do with them.

image

~ by opusanglicanum on August 16, 2016.

6 Responses to “Procrastination finished”

  1. The fabric is beautiful, and I’m so tempted by your offer, but considering the size of my to-do pile, I really ought to let someone else have them.

  2. Your work is so beautiful – and I was just lusting after your fabrics the other day, thinking, “I wonder if she ever has scraps?”

    I do educational presentations for schools, museums, handweavers guilds, etc., and I have lots of different types of silk to pass around and examine – things like taffeta, satin, crepe de chine, charmeuse, noil, organza. I would love to have some pieces of some of the historical fabrics you work with, if you have spare bits.

    I would be happy to send you some of the stuff I make – I’ve got silkworm cocoons, dried moths for show, hand-reeled filament, and a variety of silk yarns I’ve made, trams and organzines mostly.

  3. I’m glad you took time to gloat over all that gorgeousness!

Leave a Reply

 
