Rolling along with the Luttrell fantasy

Because the bottom panel is so big and so dense, it does feel like a bit of an achievement to finally finish it. I know I said the same thing with the first fantasy, but I really didn’t help that I had to take so long away from this over summer- had I been able to finish this first stage I would have felt more incentive to crack on

image

But it’s done now- phew!

I did have concerns about the top left beast ( and not just the sheer number of little white circles he needed) because in the ms it looked as though there was some additional shading around his thigh. However, once I’d  put in all the little circles the shading I wanted just sort of appeared by virtue of negative space.

it was awkward getting all the little circles not to look too random but just sort of random enough . I put a lot of effort into making the slightly differing sizes, not quite putting them into a grid, and also some are not quite circles.

I’m quite pleased with him in the end

image

They’re all covered up. Unusually for me I actually managed to save the cover cloths from the last piece, it’s the first time I haven’t lost them. I even washed and ironed them, which you’d be a lot more impressed with if you knew what a slob I am.

~ by opusanglicanum on September 27, 2016.

7 Responses to “Rolling along with the Luttrell fantasy”

  1. Looking good! Btw, are you going to the Opus Anglicanum exhibition at the V&A? Well I’m assuming you are, but please blog a thorough review, it would be really interesting to know what a modern day expert makes of it!

  2. He’s a wonderful beast. I know what you mean about the randomness balancing act. It’s so easy to drift into having an invisible underlying grid, and then jolt out of it, and end up with something that looks very peculiar!

  3. Fab as ever!

    I love how densely-populated this one is. Always something odd and interesting, wherever you let your eye pause.

  4. I have been following your blog for some time now and I am always amazed by your needlecraft skills. You do such beautiful work. I was so excited to see that the V&A has an Opus Anglicanum exhibit on while I am in London this coming week. I happen to be presenting a paper in the UK. What luck!

Leave a Reply

 
