dragon owl border part the first

This is one of those borders you get in medieval art where the pattern repeats but the colours change. It sounds chaotic, but there’s a sort of rhythm to it that starts to make sense.

Because this runs up the sides I decided to do this first to make sure the maximum amount of time passes between the first and second phases, thus avoiding boredom.

I was a bit worried at first that the blue I’d used for the first phase background was a bit heavy. But I was also concerned that the little white twiddly bits in the background were a bit fussy.

But put them together and suddenly

dsc_0452

and it sort of looks ok?

I tried using some alternate white wool for the twiddlies, because the unmordanted white 2/16 (undyed version of the naturally dyed stuff I do myself) has a tendency to shatter quite frequently. When Texere went out of business, the Shipley mill honoured all their orders, but for some reason the “2/16” they sent me, which was labelled as 2/16 was actually 2/18, which is far too thin. I tried the 2/18 for the white twiddlies, wondering if I could use it for something (because I have kilos of the bloody stuff), but although I think it would be fine for laid and couched work, it’s just far too fiddly to use for split stitch.

annoying that.

~ by opusanglicanum on October 12, 2016.

14 Responses to “dragon owl border part the first”

  1. You never cease to amaze! I love it!

  2. It is more than just OK, it is wonderful. Well done you.

  3. A grand border. I’m looking forward to seeing the counterchange version.
    I hope you can find another supplier of the right sort of wool thread – it’s so frustrating when you’re forced to use a ‘near miss’ instead.

  4. The details – such as the white squiggly bits – do make a big difference, don’t they!

  5. I think it works really well. The blue gives a strong, effective background for the animals and the white twiddles just lift it and stop it from being overpowering. Fab little owl too!

    • I was really worried about it for a while, but now I think that if I’d used the paler blue it would have been too pale. I like the dragon best, but that’s possibly because I feel a little guilty about putting an owl on the dragon hanging!

  6. The effect of contrasting colours is amazing. A while ago I made a pair of temari balls – exactly the same size – one white on a blue ground, the other the same blue on a white ground. The perceived difference in size was remarkable

  7. You could say it “sort of looks ok” or you could call it beautiful! I really like the contrast between the blue and the white twiddlies, and the blue is just the right colour (and shade) for this panel.

Leave a Reply

 
