Day two.

image

I thought about how to handle obelix’ belly for about six months. Originally I’d thought to shade the stripes in different tones of blue, but concluded that this would make him look like a saggy sailboat rather than the solid chap he really is, so I’m doing him with solid stripes. However I’ve added some subtle shading into the lines, which I’ve done much thicker than I would with normal opus style in order to reflect the cartoon look.

felt a bit thick when I was transcribing the drawing I’d done. I’ve been a huge fan of asterix since I was a child and I’ve only just realised that dogmatix moustache is part of the joke about French men and their taches. Doh!

~ by opusanglicanum on December 26, 2016.

4 Responses to “Day two.”

  1. If it’s any consolation, I’ve been a fan of Asterix since the age of about six, and I missed that one too!

Leave a Reply

 
