texture

One of things I looked at most closely at the opus anglicanum exhibition was background and filler textures- the ground, animals, wings, fur.

I noticed several instances of a pebbly texture similar to large scale dappling as a treatment for earth or pasture. I will do some in silk soon, but because I had a large area of ground to fill on my latest labours picture I thought I’d play.

dsc_0535

I think I sort of definitely perhaps kinda maybe like it. I’ll definitely try it again, perhaps in brown and cream as I saw on one of the copes at the exhibition.

Gareth thinks it looks like cabbages. It reminds me of Van Gogh. Our brains work very differently!

~ by opusanglicanum on February 8, 2017.

7 Responses to “texture”

  1. Maybe he’s seen more cabbages than Van Gogh’s.

  2. Hmmm… Actually I can see both the Van Gogh and the cabbages. Does that mean my brain is split in two?

  3. half a cabbage is better then no slaw!

  4. […] is a lot of beautiful stitching and information about opus anglicanum here. I’ve seen that ‘cabbage stitch’ used to create a pattern of dapples on a horse; […]

Leave a Reply

 
