Do you ever have one of those days…

…when you just feel like a bit of a horse’s arse?

I had a bit of an experiment with the dapples. In opus anglicanum horse dapples tend to be done by packing spirals of split stitch, I’ve done this many times and it gives lovely results. But the dragon hunter’s steed looked more like blue with circles applied on top, so that’s what I did. I think it looks lovely, but I’m not convinced it looks like dapples – to me it looks more like the way native americans paint their horses, in fact I was quite tempted to sneak in a white handprint, for the fact I’d already dappled his larger areas I think I would have done.

I don’t think this was really any quicker than the split stich version, either, since so much split stitch was overlaid across the couching.

The whole thing is rolled to the next stage now, and I’m working on the rider. I might be approaching the halfway mark.

In other news Gareth is shocked by the size of the parcel that just arrived from hotel chocolate. I don’t know why he’s shocked, since he knew I had a 50% off coupon and he has actually met me.

~ by opusanglicanum on March 29, 2017.

6 Responses to “Do you ever have one of those days…”

  1. I do rather like those dapples. Is the horse about to stamp on the tail of the spanielosaurous?

  2. I think the spanielsaurus is hoping for a share in the bumper Hotel Chocolat box…

  3. I’m continuously amazed by your craftsmanship, your creativity and the sheer volume of embroidery you manage to complete! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

 
