Progress on studley bowl

The shaped (still needs the rim trimming about 1mm on one side) bowl sat on my desk for almost a year before I worked up the nerve to start decorating it. I’ve been very slow because there’s so little room for error, so I’ve done one letter at a time, marked out the next and left it for a bit – I find my hands get tired and that’s when I start to cock things up.
im sure it will start to look more acceptable once I’ve scrubbed the sharpie marks off it and picked out the lettering with some liver of sulphur.
nervous again now because I have to work the bottom row, and it’s a much steeper slope.
in other news though, I think I might have finally worked out how to progress with the lid…
and yes, despite it having taken me nearly twelve years to be happy with the shape, it is ever so slightly wonky.

sometimes I’m very slow, I need thinking time.

~ by opusanglicanum on May 29, 2017.

6 Responses to “Progress on studley bowl”

  1. You’ve done incredible work!

  2. Thinking time takes as long as it takes, unfortunately – and it can’t be speeded up!

  3. It looks gorgeous.
    Isn’t the only problem with making things that everyone else thinks they are lovely, and you just see the places it didn’t turn out the way you expected it to.

Leave a Reply

 
