Norman

His name is Norman, after my granda. ( granda’s name was Richard, but he objected to being called dick, so used his middle name)

I named him after my granda because, before I was born, one of granda’s sows had a piglet with one head and two bodies, just like young Norman here. As a child I heard tales of the piglet, which didn’t live long, but was proudly sent to Durham university, presumably either for dissection, or to be pickled in one of those cool jars, or maybe both.

My mum told me you never see things in jars at fairgrounds any more, or freak shows ( mum recently found out her granda’s first wife, who died childless, was a proper tattooed lady)

Personally, I think you can learn a lot from pigs. For instance I first learnt that grown ups get scared when one of granda’s sows got loose, she charged ferociously at one of the men trying to round her up, and I swear he jumped six foot straight up into a tree like something from a cartoon. I must have been about three, and found this revelation fascinating, because before that I’d assumed that once you grew up you weren’t scared of anything.

however, I think this is a conjoined cat, so perhaps I should stop blathering on about pigs.

in other news, I actually finished the fantasy last Thursday ( I still have posts to catch up on before I do the big reveal, and don’t hold your breath because I’ve a busy week) and gareth says I’m suffering from artistic post partem depression…

~ by opusanglicanum on July 4, 2017.

8 Responses to “Norman”

  1. Cat, pig, gorgeous either way.

  2. Norman Oakley, I think. Very lovely.

  3. He’s a treat – rather startled and lugubrious, but I suspect that life as a conjoined creature can be a little confusing at times!

  4. Hey, just wanted to let you know that Photobucket have “updated” their site, and now you can’t link to images like you do in your sidebar. I use imgur.com now and set images to ‘hidden’, which means they won’t be visible on the social part of the imgur site, but you can still use links on your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
