R

is for repairs.

You may or may not know my long running fascination with the value of textiles in the middle ages- it’s a big part of why I get so interested in applique. The Bodleian workshop similarly focused on the re-use and repair of parchment and manuscripts, showing several text with repairs, or even instances of legal texts being scratched out and used for playscripts.

This panel might perhaps look a little tatty alongside it’s grander nieghbours, but that’s sort of the point.

footnote – the only reason you get a post today is that I lined it up before bed last night, just before the tummy bug kicked in. the only reason I’m sat here now is I’m trying to ring today’s client and cancel, but their phones engaged. wanna go back to bed

~ by opusanglicanum on September 13, 2017.

7 Responses to “R”

  1. I hope you are feeling better soon.

    • it’s sjut the standard “I have been in contact with the germ ridden monsters known as children and they have breathed their noxious miasma on me” 24 hour tummy bug thing. I slept all day, bit miffed that I missed visitors from London, but I\ve eaten and hopefully I can go back to earning a living tomorrow

  2. Get well again soon!

    Some of the repairs were really quite ingenious, weren’t they! I think you’ve paid tribute to them very well.

    • one of the texts they showed us on the open day was a court roll that had been scratched out to be re-used a play role

      I haven’t thrown up for 16 hours, so I think I’m over the worst. Gareth is at his palce though, so I had to force myself to wipe the bathroom down, and wondered how on earth \I got vom on the far side of the room!

  3. I am sorry to read of your illness…take care of yourself. I do so enjoy getting your posts each day! I helped me have the courage to pick up embroidery in earnest.

Leave a Reply

 
