A little more buttoncoat and a thankyou

The thankyou first, as it was very nice to be featured as a Monday treasure on http://stitchingwithashimmy.com/2012/02/20/monday-treasure-opus-anglicanum/

I’m a little behind on my internet, as you can tell = work and stuff

Sadly, I didn’t get the buttoncoat finished over half term, but it is at least starting to look quite coaty

 I’m in two minds as to whether or not to fit it more around the waist – it’s quite overlarge at the moment – but the thing is I think it will very rarely be buttoned up so am not sure it really matters. It won’t be buttoned much as I had a rethink of the front fastening, whcih will now be two rows of buttons rather than one, in a kind of folded back arrangement I saw on another coat, and liked a lot.

I am having terrible trouble getting the sleeves to sit right though. Partly this is because the silk is very unforgiving – it makes me yearn to work with worsted again – and partly I think what will make he sleeves sit right is some padding. I look ridiculous with even slight padding though, since I’ve got shoulders broader than most blokes already. I’m very torn.

Skirt is nice and swishy tho, i likes the swishy.

I have time to think about it though, since this is a project for Gareth’s house, and we’re at mine this weekend. Unfortunately the weekend after I have quite a bit of other stuff to do, so am not sure how much I’ll be able to play – it’s perverted, I know, but I actually quite enjoy doing buttonholes by hand. Hopefully I’ll get a bit done though.

~ by opusanglicanum on February 22, 2012.

8 Responses to “A little more buttoncoat and a thankyou”

  1. I can handle shoulder padding. Just saying.

    If it were I, I would take it in at the waist, if it is too large. It would make for a nice silhouette from behind.

    • I can’t either, not with my shoulders – I wore pads in the 80s when I was a teenager and looked ridiculous, but i think my only other option might end up being a flat wool interfacing – iron on just isn’t going to help round the shoulders, the silk needs a bit more body, I think.

      I think I may well just have to take the wiast in next weekend. am putting it off cos I hate doing fittings, its like clothes shopping, which I also hate

  2. I’d take in the waist, if it were mine. It will better accentuate your waist when unbuttoned. And that’s always a good thing! Though I commiserate on fitting, ugh.

  3. Maybe rather than padding, just sew in a layer of interlining the shape of shoulder pads. It will add some definition without actually padding the shoulders!

  4. I’m a little slow on the uptake, but I love this! It looks great, although I agree with the others, about taking in the waist.
    Can’t wait to see it finished.

    Em

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.