Petrus Christus hat progress

Sorry about the lack of updates, my shoulder has been very sore for some reason, and there’s something about the angle of the computer at Gareth’s that really aggravates it, (home now – laptop is fine) and then there was the IMC, which was busy busy fun.

I’ve finished the embroidery – the gold took ages! (It doesn’t help that there are about 60 complete squares plus the partial ones)

pet hat emb

At first I thought I would make the surrounds for the garnets from couched gold thread, but in the end I went with little circles of gilded leather – it’s and equally valid period solution, and I liked the extra dimension it gave over couched thread.

pet hat emb detail

Tablet weave is in progress, and I’ve ordered fabric for the viel, so hopefully finished soon!

~ by opusanglicanum on July 8, 2013.

11 Responses to “Petrus Christus hat progress”

  1. I like your little flower-like leather circles, Very pretty. Fingers crossed for a speedy shoulder recovery.

    • they’re pretty, aren’t they? I have no idea whats gone wrong with my shoulder, I have no recollection of injuring it, its wierd but at least it seems to be on the mend

  2. Oooo. Tis looking very sparkly!

  3. Wow, it’s looking great. Just like the painting. I was thinking of you last night while watching “The White Queen” – last weeks episode- because one of the characters had a similar shaped hat on with floaty, voile type stuff coming from the top too. Have to say…. yours is MUCH nicer than hers.

    • Thanks. I haven’t been able to bring myself to watch the white queen after seeing the trailer – I decided it would be bad for my sanity- so it’s hardly surprising mine is nicer. From what I’ve heard and the little I;ve seen it’s surprising anyone’s head was decently covered

      • Lol! I wondered if you would be deliberately not watching. Me… Well I know nothing so I can just get lost in the story 😉

  4. I agree, the little leather discs are a great way to create the surrounds for the jewels. Might they even have padded them in some cases?

    • I think it would depend on the thickness of the leather – this is a little thicker than some gilded leathers – they certainly did pad things from time to time

  5. I love your solution of the leather!

    • gilded leather seems to have been used quite a bit, but I think we dont notice on surviving pieces because the gilt wears off – most people who look at the tristram hanging dont even notive the leather strips

Leave a Reply

 
