funny face

An interesting excercise. On saturday I was teaching an online class for the Ashmolean, the dragon queen in opus anglicanum that I posted here late last year. Becasue I’ve already done this face twice, once as a video to send out for class and once for the installation at Caernarfon castle, I decided that to make the geometry more visible on the zoom feed (because no matter what camera you use as a feed the images on zoom always seem a bit fuzzy to me, they aren’t exactly HDTV ) Hence I worked the constituent parts of her face in separate colours.

She looks somewhat modernist, almost picasso-ish, and amuses me greatly – although I’m glad she is simply a throwaway demo project as I can see some rather imperfect stitchingon her nose now I have a decent photo. In my defence the camera tends to impede my view when I have it hovering over the embroidery like this!

~ by opusanglicanum on April 11, 2022.

6 Responses to “funny face”

  1. I think this is a brilliant demo piece. It almost looks like something for a medical textbook, and blends the “how” and “why” the faces were/are stitched this way really clear.

  2. This is a wonderful way to make the different sections clear, not just the shape, but the reasons.

    • zoom is so low res I don’t think flesh colour works well – and it was the 3rd time i’ve stitched this particular face so it was more interesting for me too

  3. Woah! make up classes were certainly different way back when!

    • it’s funny you should say that – the whole time I wasstitching her I was thinking of the roman ladies in the asterix books discussing how sickly thier makeup looks

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.